4 comments on “31 Days of Lessons Learned: Take Advantage of Interlibrary Loans

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Lessons Learned | Dane Jackson – Musings of a Curious Mind

  2. I am very glad to hear folks are continuing to send you reading material; that is a very nice gesture.
    As for the local library system: while I agree folks should support and utilize their local library, I have a slightly different perspective. When I recall visiting my library as a younger man, I recall walking the stacks and being amazed by the selection and possibilities. Today, libraries rely on inter-library loans and so carry less and less of a readily available selection. In the last year, I have have checked out well over 25 books and none have been regular stock from my local library. What has happened to the days of looking for books from general subject interest? Can I only get a book if it is on a list now?
    This ties to the death of printed reading material. Here’s a topic for what lessons you have learned; even Superman is leaving the printed word, so what have we gained? What is the lesson (which I have missed) which comes from having less availability to the printed word?

    • Hi Michael! Thanks for the comment.

      I think my feeling about interlibrary loan is a bit different because of my experiences growing up. As a kid, I was closest to a little satellite branch, so I had to rely on the interlibrary loan system to get the books I wanted. I’ve never really used the library as a place to browse per se because I always had a desire outcome each time I went I go in.

      Most of my browsing and getting lost in the possibilities has always happened in bookstores. Coincidentally, as a kid, there was an indie bookstore right next to my satellite branch. Guess which one I spent more time in.

      It’s because of this that I’m okay with the interlibrary loan system. I still go to that little satellite branch I grew up with. Now I just have more access.

      What really distresses me is the assortment shrinking in bookstores…something that distressed me at Borders and something that continues to distress me. eBooks and Amazon have all but decimated the big box bookstore format. When walking into a B&N, I’m greeted with a nook kiosk mini store and tchotchkes instead of the latest and greatest.

      Thankfully, indie bookstores still have that passionate book spirit and I’m able to still get lost in the words and pick something based on a staff recommendation or the back cover. This is something I’m trying to bestow in my daughter as well. I’m hoping that if printed books remain important to her, they’ll live on in some way.

      There are definitely a lot of lessons to be discussed about my time in the book industry (and my desire to find a way back somehow through my writing) and the implications of what happened at Borders on the survival rate of printed books. I’m going to think on it and write something up this weekend.

      P.S. When our schedules get less crazy, we definitely need to have a get together!

      • I agree; we should find a time we can get together. It would be real good to see you and the family again.

Leave a Reply

